Cruise Adventure – A Summer Break Getaway

Currently I am working on a clients trip to Italy, Greece and Rome she took with her Grandson. Last night I worked on a layout showcasing her Cruise Adventure on the Western Shores of Ancona, Italy. This was a fun layout to create, while playing along with a few blog challenges. This is what I love about blog challenges; It encourages me to try new colour schemes, techniques and ideas. Here’s how my layout turned out.Ancona Italy(Click on layout to see it even bigger)

At Let’s Scrap challenge #188 Get Inky- Creating a Card or Layout using any Let’s Scrap past sketch and Ink. I choose a sketch from their 2009 # 5-27-09 collection.

5-27-09

It worked perfectly with Carol’s 10 photos.

As for the ‘Inky’ part, we were asked to get brave and try a tad bit more ink than you typically use. I choose to ink all the edges of my photos mats except for the main picture, I felt the stark white helped this focal photo stand out alone without adding the extra ink. I  also inked around my scallops on my borders, and journaling box…which brings me to the second challenge I am playing along with on CSI’s Blog. Over at CSI the challenge is Case File No. CC-2. This challenge is where I got the colour scheme and a few fun elements to add to the layout and a fun, creative way to do it!

For this challenge, we must use all 5 colours, choose at least 2 elements of ‘Evidence’ and at least 1 choice from the’ Testimony’ list. I choose from the Evidence; to use ribbon with stripes, I distressed the edges of my photos mats and scallop border with inks and choose to use Cruise Liner Ships as my transportation accents. From the Testimony; I used the topic of vacation and documented the trip experience.Cruise Experience(Click to see picture bigger)

The third challenge that this layout qualifies for is: Craft Hoarders Challenge Blog. Their Challenge is called Challenge #11 Tag, You’re It!

Using a tag on your project.  Add tags to your scrapbook layout using some hoarded tag-shaped packaging or cut tags from scrap paper using a die cut template. I choose to cut my tag freehand and use up a bunch of scraps left over from making the  layout, plus some scraps I keep hoarded away in my scrap bins! As long as your project contains some sort of tag, you will meet the requirements to play along! Their challenge closes on July 13th by Midnight if you want to play along. Here is my tag up close.Craft Hoarders Tag(Click on picture to see it bigger)

I love tags, always have, always will! They add a bit of excitement with all their fun, creative little details! I used a left over sticker of a life preserver ring, left over ribbon from a project I did just a few days ago, scraps of patterned paper left over from making my scalloped border for the layout… this tag was literally made from all scraps! I love how it turned out and I think Carol is going to love it too! Finally I made some accordion flowers from maps of Italy I printed off the internet.Accordian Folded Map FlowersI love how these turned out too… sadly because I was in ‘hoarder mode’ still, I wasted a good 20 minutes trying to find patterned map paper… I even text a friend ranting in denial that I didn’t have any map paper! Since I no longer have a LSS, I quickly pulled myself to together and found some nice map images of Italy to work with. I made them using my Martha Stewart Scoring Board, a gift from my BFF Laura M., I love this score board! Thank you Laura, it is one of my favorite tools!

I hope you enjoy the layout as much as I did creating it, thanks for stopping by today 🙂

About thescrapbookguru

Hi, I 'm Heather. Scrapbooking has been my hobby for two decades! I enjoy every aspect of paper crafting and art mediums in general. I Specialize in creating custom albums. My paper passion is punch art and paper piecing. Feel free to contact me for information on creating something custom and special for you or your loved ones.
This entry was posted in CSI and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cruise Adventure – A Summer Break Getaway

  1. lostcoastscrapper1 says:

    Beautiful work and tag! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  2. cottagerca says:

    Wow, this layout is a gorgeous double page layout. The detail is wonderful. The design is lovely for all those photo’s and a great sketch by Lets Scrap.

  3. smithgfb says:

    This layout is so gorgeous! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  4. Tammi says:

    fantastic page!! Thanks for sharing with us at Craft Hoarders!!

  5. Amber Milone says:

    Great layout and I love the tag and the Rosettes. Thanks for joining us at CHACB!

  6. I love your bright colors and the rosettes! I also love the way you used the tag! Thanks so much for playing along with us a Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

Leave a Reply

