Joy

Joy

Joy Final Close Up

This week I heard Christmas music playing everywhere I went. You either love it or you don’t… lucky for me, I do. I love Christmas music! My all time favorite is Bing Crosby and David Bowie’s version of The Little Drummer Boy. I believe music is a gift, it’s felt by the heart and the soul ~by Everyone, Everywhere!

Music is a gift I am grateful for in my life. My son Brandon and I had a long talk today about the importance music and the role it plays in people’s lives. I wanted to make my son a Christmas card reflective of our discussion today.

I felt like tonight was a good night to break open my Heidi Swapp Sprays and make Brandon’s Christmas card. When I make gifts for the men in my life, I like to create more rustic projects. Sprays are the perfect medium for this approach! I’ll admit, I have been nervous to use sprays… it can be very messy (permanently messy) But my friend Marta, makes it look easy! She told me recently to go for it…

Tonight I decided to take Marta’s advice and just go for it! When I met Marta Lapkowska, I was fascinated by her carefree, creative and unbound use of sprays, mediums and inks. Marta is not scared to make a mess… and by mess; I mean, a glorious work of art made from artistic reckless abandonment, I admire her talent! Checkout Marta’s blog here .

Marta… I have finally opened some of my new sprays. πŸ™‚

Joy Supplies

The supplies I started with; Tombow Xtreme Adhesive, Heidi Swapp Color Shine Sprays (mint and cherry) , Studio G (Black Glitter glue), Ranger Distressing Ink (Antique Linen), Stamp unknown & My Mind’s Eye Christmas Stamps.

Joy Step 1

Using Ranger Ink’s Antique Linen Distressing pad, I gently smooshed the ink over the entire surface of 8.5 X 11 cream coloured cardstock.

Joy Step 2

Using a large newsprint (to cover and protect my craftroom counters) behind my cardstock, I then sprayed Heidi Swapp’s Mint Color Shine  spray (mainly focusing on the left side).

Joy step 3

I repeated the last step again, this time focusing on the right side with Heidi Swapp’s  Cherry Color Shine spray. At this point the spray over shot my feeble attempt of catching all the over spray, lol. I ended up stopping and cleaning for 1/2 hour… must ask Marta how she contains the over spray??? On a happy note, my counters are once again glue free and my paper trimmers and scissors all got a much needed polishing.

Joy Step 4

Once I got back to business,.. I used the music note stamp and the StazOn Ink to cover only half of the cardstock. I then used Ranger’s Peacock Feathers Distress Ink to stamp ‘My Mind’s Eye star stamps randomly over the music notes.

Joy Step 5

I added just a bit more cherry spray to punch up the colour. I then cut 6 squares from paper, measuring 2 X 2 inches each.

Joy Step 6

I created a mat background, distressed the edges with Ranger’s Peacock Feathers Distress Ink. I stamped the bottom left hand corner to add some background interest with unknown floral stem stamps with StazOn Ink.

Joy Step 7

I layered on the squares and mounted everything to a black card background with Tombow Xtreme adhesive. I created  the Joy sentiment from My Mind’s Eye Christmas stamps and wrapped it like a gift with silver scraps of ribbon. I added some red faux ruby gems sporadically for interest and attached them with Tombow Mono Multi glue.

Joy FinalJoy Final Close Up

The finished card. I think my son will love this card. Music plays a huge role in his life and brings him a lot of joy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With the other half of the cardstock (the scraps), I made another card. I like how it turned out. I love scrap paper and the endless possibilities!! Thank you Marta for inspiring me on a daily basis, I really do appreciate your talents!

Final Love card close up

Thanks for stopping by today πŸ™‚ Heather

About thescrapbookguru

Hi, I 'm Heather. Scrapbooking has been my hobby for two decades! I enjoy every aspect of paper crafting and art mediums in general. I Specialize in creating custom albums. My paper passion is punch art and paper piecing. Feel free to contact me for information on creating something custom and special for you or your loved ones.
This entry was posted in Tombow USA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Joy

  1. cottagerca says:

    Alright, coming over to my side of the industry. Great card, nice to see Tombow performs well for this project. I too like working with a Master Board to create cards… Bravo!!! well done.

  2. Marta says:

    Oh Heather !
    Firstly thank you so much for letting me know about your fabulous creation. Secondly oh my ! I am over the moon to hear you have finally broke the ice and used sprays ! Be careful as you will fell in love with this girl πŸ™‚
    Aabout the card… I adore it ! It’s beautiful work of art. Mixed media world is endless, no rules and full creativity. I enjoyed your creative process, thank you for sharing your step by step photos. I love the colour choice and the stamping the backround, cute cute stars !
    Yes, music is like a balm to me πŸ™‚ I always listen when I create.
    I am sure Brandon will be delighted to receive such a gift from you. Sending you more of my creative ‘sprayish’ hugs πŸ™‚ Love, Marta x

Leave a Reply

