The Encrusted Jewel Technique

Encrusted Jewel Technique

This weekend I went on a 3 day blog hop with Tombow and Stampendous. I had a great time seeing new projects and learning new tips and tricks with products I already own. One technique that really excited me was the ‘Encrusted Jewel Technique’. Today on Day 3 of the Winter Wonderland Blog Hop, I found this cool technique on Marie Browning’s blog. Marie shared a fun video by Fran…

In this video Fran shares her happy accident of discovering the “encrusted jewel technique” when her glitters get mixed up with her embossing powders at July’s CHA! Check out the video and learn how to create a very textural, glittery montage of magic as Fran makes a magical Snowman Card in this video.

The 

I was so excited to whip up a encrusted jewel card of my own… I had no idea what I was going to make but knew I had to just go with the flow and put some of the tips I learned along the hop to good use!. Here’s my finished card;Encrusted Jewel Card

Here’s how I made it…

Hampton Art Stamps The Supplies Dye Ribbon With Spray

I used the Hampton Art Stamps (#SC0666), I love the die that comes with it! I chose some scrap papers from my paper bin (as this was my first attempt and only the testing phase). I distressed the edges of papers with 2 distressing inks; Ranger Peacock Feathers and Antique Linen. I then used the sentiment in Peacock Feathers to create a word background. After layering and gluing to together with Tombow Mono Multi glue, I dyed my white silk ribbon with Heidi Swapp’s  Cherry Color Shine spray. Then attached ribbon to side of the card, before adding the snowflakes. (I used my heat gun to dry ribbon and added a Christmas bell with white jute).

Using Versamark ink I stamped several snowflakes and sprinkled all at the same time several different embossing glitters, as it was melting under the heat gun, I used my other hand to sprinkle regular navy blue glitter and it stuck to the melted embossing powders! I then used the die and cut out the snowflakes and attached them to the card. Along the bottom of the card I used my Versa Marker and scribbled where more embossing powder was needed… before it dried, I sprinkled on chunky glitter and mini blue beads.

This was a fun hop and plan on using many of the tips I learned along the way on some of my future projects. Great blog hop Tombow and Stampendous! Thank You!

jewel card 3a

Thanks for stopping by today 🙂 Heather

About thescrapbookguru

Hi, I 'm Heather. Scrapbooking has been my hobby for two decades! I enjoy every aspect of paper crafting and art mediums in general. I Specialize in creating custom albums. My paper passion is punch art and paper piecing. Feel free to contact me for information on creating something custom and special for you or your loved ones.
This entry was posted in Tombow USA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Encrusted Jewel Technique

  1. cottagerca says:

    great card

  2. Lisa Sass says:

    It is beautiful Heather.

Leave a Reply

